·  Legal News, Analysis, & Commentary

News & Politics

Six More Texas Counties Get Federal Disaster Aid

— March 28, 2016

Flooding, high winds, thunderstorms, hailstorms, tornadoes… You name it and Mother Nature has thrown it at the Lone Star State this month with some devastating effects. Damage is in the hundreds of millions of dollars in one county alone (Tarrant County). Now, six more Texas counties get federal disaster aid in the wake of recent severe weather.

Three counties already receiving federal aid are:

  • Jasper
  • Newton
  • Orange

FEMA, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, added the following six counties to that list, originally issued on March 19, this past Saturday:

  • Erath
  • Gregg
  • Harrison
  • Hood
  • Marion
  • Parker

Residents in these counties can apply for different types of aid due to the disaster declaration. Such aid includes low interest loans to pay for repairs and rebuilding.

Photo courtesy of
Photo courtesy of

The federal aid will also help the counties themselves recover from the severe weather that has been slamming the area since March 7. Much of southeast Texas was flooded, leading to thousands of evacuations as well as severely damage or destroyed homes and businesses.


Federal disaster aid approved for 6 more Texas counties

Join the conversation!